True Detective Season One Finale — TV EPISODE REVIEW

The best new show on television, “True Detective”

Give that man all of the Emmy Awards that you have! Holy cow, such good acting in this episode. Its nothing new with this show. Every episode, these two guys kill it. This episode had all of the set up from last week so it didn’t take much for it to get going this week. And once again, the episode was damn good. I was worried about this episode last week though. For one, I didn’t think the “lawnmower man” was a very strong villain. And I was worried because I honestly had absolutely no idea where these two characters were going to take us. What a journey this show was.

One thing I really loved is that throughout the course of this show, we have seen this journey through the eyes of our two detectives. Flawed they may be, but it was one of the best things about this show. We saw it through their perspectives. But that changed at the beginning of this episode. they kinda pulled the veil and showed us our monster. And quite the monster he is. Wow. And it was from his perspective. We saw his disgusting house and just how creepy this guy is. The whistling had to be dubbed in though, because no one can whistle that perfectly while running down steps. I’ve tried it and it doesn’t work. Just saying.

Fans can criticize and theorize all they want. There have been numerous theories hitting the internet ever since this show started. But I said from day one that the only thing that mattered was Cohle and Hart. Their partnership, downfall, and friendship. And people can be pissed all they want that there wasn’t some big twist and that it was just so straightforward. But I loved it. I loved every second of this show and this finale.

Now, the one thing that this episode did for me was give me a fricken heart attack. I had no clue what was in store for Hart and Cohle so once they arrived at the bad guy’s house and McConaughey said “Marty, this is the place”, I had chills running up and down my spine. And how about that Carcosa? How creepy was that? And how disgusting was the scene between Childress and his half-sister? Talking about “flowers” was really gross. If you didn’t see the episode, you won’t have the slightest clue what I’m talking about. And that’s okay. Back to Carcosa. That place terrified me. That chase scene where Childress was luring Cohle deeper into the labyrinth had my heart beating super fast. Edge of your seat television right there.

I’m trying not to give away too much here but I kind of have to. So if you haven’t watched the episode and are reading this, then that sucks for you. But the dialogue that Childress was given was so eerie and he nailed all of it. From how he talked, he knew that a confrontation was coming and he wanted it. To me at least, it seemed like he wanted to expose his family and was waiting for the two “good guys” to catch him so that everyone like Tuttle could be exposed. So that his story would be told. So that everyone would know what happened to him as a child and so everyone could know what exactly he did and why he did it. There are no reasons to justify what he did. He knew he was a monster. But he was turned into this by someone else. With that videotape and all of the religious shit going on, it really fucked the guy up. He wanted that final confrontation and he got it with Hart and Cohle. He really did.

That entire scene was brutal and I knew something bad was going to happen. But that axe throw was badass; I have to admit that. But what Iloved about this episode was the interaction between the two leads. They were buddies. Having their heart to heart conversations and cracking jokes at one another. This is why the show is successful. We care about our two leads and their relationship with each other. It put a huge fricken smile on my face when Hart referred to Cohle as his friend. If you think about it, this show started with these two individuals fighting for themselves the entire time. And in this final confrontation, they both had to save each other. Hart knew that his partner was willing to sacrifice himself and he needed to prevent that. It is amazing stuff really.

And that last scene. Damn. Chills. First of all, how awesome were those cigarettes? It was just a great moment for both characters. And McConaughey’s final scene was heartbreaking and uplifting at the same time. His breakdown just put a whole strain of emotions through me. So many different ones. It was just really powerful and it was dark. I was glad they didn’t end the season on Marty saying that “dark has a lot more territory” because that would’ve just been dark. Rust telling him that he is seeing it all wrong was a brilliant touch both for the character and the way to end the show. And McConaughey deserves a shit ton of credit but I can’t not show Woody Harrelson some love. The scene where his family comes in and he is beaming with happiness only to keep reassuring himself that he is fine when he knows he messed a lot of good shit up, gave me goosebumps. Seeing him breakdown almost brought tears to my eyes. God, the acting on this show is a spectacle everyone should witness. This show really has been more like a really long movie. And Patton Oswalt said it best: “Best movie I’ll see this year”. Because it is fantastic and this was realistic, not a letdown.

Marty was looking at it all wrong, according to Rust. “Well, once there was only dark. You ask me, the light’s winning.” Boom. Kind of an uplifting ending. And that, ladies and gentlemen, is what I call perfection.

WHAT I LIKED:

+: Acting from both McConaughey and Harrelson

+: Comedy and heartwarming moments between the two leads

+: FRIENDS!

+: Carcosa

+: How creepy the monster really was

+: Final scene

+: Hospital scene between Hart and his family

+: Really, pretty much everything

WHAT I DIDN’T LIKE:

-: Sorry guys…I got nothing.

-: Wait, I got one! I wanted more episodes with these two amazing characters.

OVERALL

9.8

A (Excellent)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

UPROXX

The Culture Of Now

TIME

Current & Breaking News | National & World Updates

Splatter: on FILM

My view on films as I see them. Take it, laugh, share it, leave it. Above all, enjoy!

Killer Movie Reviews

Making the world safe for filmgoers since 2002.

Harper's Valentine

There is always some madness in love. But there is also always some reason in madness.

lifeofspikes

Just another WordPress.com site

WiscoMom

Let All That You Do Be Done In Love- 1 Corinthians 16:14

Brittany Johnson

Journalism student at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

ProFootballTalk

ProFootballTalk on NBCSports.com

NFL.com Blogs

Official Blog of the National Football League

Green Bay Packers - Official Blog

The official blog of the Green Bay Packers

Cut The Crap Movie Reviews

...for people who don't read movie reviews.

Dan the Man's Movie Reviews

All my aimless thoughts, ideas, and ramblings, all packed into one site!

MorseCode

Discussing things that matter. So naturally, its mostly entertainment and sports.

The Phantom Reviewer

Opinions on sports, entertainment, and everything else

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

